Sunday, April 6, 2014

Submit Comments to 8 Federal Agencies Weighing In On Keystone XL Decision

Keystone XL opponents recently submitted over 2 million comments to the U.S. State Department, urging Sec. Kerry to recommend that Pres. Obama reject this risky tarsands export pipeline, as part of the "National Interest Determination" process for the pipeline.

Now, eight federal agencies are in the midst of a 90-day comment period where they may also weigh in on whether Keystone XL is in our nation's interest. While none of these agencies are formally accepting comments from the public on their Keystone decision-making process, we want Pipeline Fighters to reach out and tell them we think KXL is all risk and no reward for our land, water and climate. 

The federal agencies currently providing feedback to the State Department are the Environmental Protection Agency and the departments of Defense, Justice, Interior, Commerce, Transportation, Energy and Homeland Security. Agencies must submit their comments by May 7, 2014. 

Send a handwritten letter, make a phone call, email or tweet and let them know why KXL is NOT in our nation's interest:

(You should include a note that you are contacting them in reference to the National Interest Determination for Keystone XL.) 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)EPA Administrator: Gina McCarthy (Twitter: @GinaEPA) 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.Washington, DC 20460(202) 272-0167 

U.S. Department of Transportation-Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Adminstration
PHMSA Administrator: Cynthia Quarterman (Twitter: @PHMSA_DOT)
East Building, 2nd Floor
Mail Stop: E27-300
1200 New Jersey Ave., SE
Washington, DC 20590
Click here to submit an online comment to PHMSA

U.S. Department of DefenseSec. of Defense: Chuck Hagel (Twitter: @DeptofDefense)1400 Defense Pentagon
Washington, DC 20301-1400
(703) 571-3343

Click here to submit an online comment to DOD

U.S. Department of JusticeAttorney General: Eric Holder (Twitter: @RealEricHolder, @TheJusticeDept)
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20530-0001
Public comments line: (202) 353-1555

U.S. Department of the Interior
Sec. of Interior: Sally Jewell (Twitter: @SecretaryJewell, @Interior)1849 C Street, N.W.
Washington DC 20240
(202) 208-3100

Click here to submit an online comment to Interior Dept. 

U.S. Department of Commerce
Sec. of Commerce: Penny Pritzker (Twitter: @PennyPritzker, @CommerceSec)1401 Constitution Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20230
(202) 482-2000

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Sec. of Homeland Security: Jeh Johnson (Twitter: @DHSgov)
The Honorable Jeh Johnson
Secretary of Homeland Security
245 Murray Lane SW

Washington, D.C.  20528

No comments: